Ahoy 2016

At a family re-union in Mysore

Many people ask me what I am doing, now that I have got off the corporate treadmill and some venture to ask, “Nothing?”  To cut a long story short I just say that I am leading a relaxed and stress free life. No time like now to reflect on what I do and add a tweak here and there.

Ever since I rejoined the Soka Gakkai in Feb last year I have been back to reasonably active participation in District and Chapter level meetings. My prayers and chanting though not as regular as they should be, have picked up a lot. I am happy to be back on the path of seeking and wish to truly understand the mentor disciple relationship and what it means at a deeper level to practice for others. Last year was momentous because my wife finally joined me in the practice and largely due to my brother in law Ram’s prodding, the family chanted together both at Sheikh Sarai in Delhi and at our home in Bangalore.

The need to stay healthy and fit has always been a prime concern. Over the last year I continued sessions with my personal trainer and cycling. I am thankfully at a higher level of fitness at the end of the year than at the start. Once again I plan to participate in a 250 kms cycle ride at the Desert 500 event in February this year. I plan to dedicate this effort to cancer care and relief for the underprivileged sections of society and I am searching for an appropriate NGO to link up with. Sadly in 2015 a few more family members have succumbed to cancer or are engaged in battling the scourge.

Last year I finally went on a trek in the Himalayas with Sandeep Talpade and his group. I made new friends, enjoyed the trek and I am looking forward to another one this year with Sandeep or with any other capable organizer.

View from our high altitude camp
View from our high altitude camp

I finally got off the mark with the research and pre-work for a book I have decided to publish on the Anglo Indian community. I am enjoying connecting with my Anglo Indian school friends and other who may be helpful in developing the theme and story line of the book. I plan to visit Melbourne to connect with my friends and will spend most of the current year in writing this book. Blogging is also set for a revival as I work through the Blogging 101 exercises of Word Press. I am not sure about continuing with the Writer’s Bureau writing exercises as this has now entered the fiction writing phase which I am not keen on pursuing at this stage.

Engaging with friends for the book, attending meetings of the Soka Gakkai and actively keeping in touch with friends from my corporate and student days is ensuring a healthy social life. Family life is also thriving and I am feeling good about it. The months we spend in Bangalore to get away from the winter chill in Delhi is increasing engagement with family and friends. Another momentous event was my son Shirish’s marriage to his long time girl friend Corinna in Canada. My wife and I attended this beautifully conducted event in Canada.IMG_4325

I have been seeking opportunities for sharpening the saw but I can do with more concerted actions. A clutch of courses through Coursera have helped and I would continue this in 2016. I plan also to spend significantly more time on hobbies such as chess and photography. As a member of the blogging community I also plan to do my share of reading of the bogs I am following. The Blogging 101 exercises are helping me polish up blogging skills besides introducing me to likeminded bloggers with whom I share common interests and this is opening up for me a new social world.

Well I suppose I have my hands reasonably full but if anyone still wants to know what I do these days, I am leading a relaxed stress free life!!IMG_4355

 

Author: hari008

Business Leader , Mentor and Executive Coach with a long track record of achievement , developing high performance teams and mentoring team members who now hold responsible positions in several leading companies

4 thoughts on “Ahoy 2016”

Leave a Reply

