My cycle’s packed I’m ready to go !!


The GK Bikers are off on a cycling expedition to Kerala on 2nd Feb 2012 and so am I .We cycle for four days covering  MunnarThekkadyVarkala-Kovallam-Kanyakumari a distance of approx 450 kms with two of them being on the Ghats ! Don’t quite know how difficult this is going to be but I’m all set and game for the challenge!! I dare say it will be tougher than we think it is going to be. This time Deepa will be coming along as part of the support team.

If marks are assigned for diligence then I would score pretty high .All through these wintery chilly months, I have been getting up before the proverbial crack of dawn and setting off cycling at 6.00 am. I planned and completed 3 to 4 rides covering 150 odd kms per week. Also chose the Outer Ring Road, so I could ride over the flyovers in a simulation of the hills. Found a good route on the Faridabad – Gurgaon Road which also was a simulation of the rolling landscape we may encounter in Kerala.

If there was a fault in my training effort, it was that I didn’t do at least a few very long rides covering 6 to 7 hours at a stretch. This was necessary, as we may have to cycle for this  many or more hours on the first few days .The second day we have to cover close 200kms or more and this is going to be really tough. A slow coach like me would require 11 or 12 hours to cover this distance with a few breaks thrown in!! Can I last that long on the cycle one go at a stretch ? God only knows!! Time will tell.

In hind sight, some training in the gym to strengthen the legs, upper arms and lungs would have been mandatory. I have always abhorred the gym (due in part to the trouble I face on thread mill tests) and hence never planned it .This may well make the difference between  successfully covering long stretches of climbs or really long distance rides , or not.Too late to cry over that now.

I was careful not to overdo it , perhaps too careful .I should have pushed myself much more .Niggles & problems in earlier events made me a lot more careful this time .But the heavens had the last laugh as I suddenly developed a lower back pain of all things, last Wednesday. Busted my back you could say and don’t fully know how it happened. While it is much better now, lingering stiffness and discomfort still exists. It created a minor setback to the training schedule , however I just got back on to the cycle and kept riding and  didn’t  have any problem , although it was difficult to move around on foot or do the normal day to day tasks . I think I should be ok by the time we set off on 2nd Feb or I hope so at least.

I got my cycle packed this time, as we have to transport it by air to Cochin. I do hope it reaches intact and I am able to reassemble it back again! I’m going to enjoy myself and take things as it comes. Will do my very best and push myself beyond the normal limits of effort I subject myself too. Will try to be circumspect and cover each day to the best of my ability and beyond .How I fare will be the topic of the next blog.

Wish me happy riding in the mean time.

 

Author: hari008

Business Leader , Mentor and Executive Coach with a long track record of achievement , developing high performance teams and mentoring team members who now hold responsible positions in several leading companies

8 thoughts on “My cycle’s packed I’m ready to go !!”

  1. good to know hari!! enjoy the experience. i’m a recent enterant to the biking enthusiast club – been clocking 50km+ on the gurgaon-faridabad road every weekend. pls post pics post your run & let’s plan on biking together once you get back. cheers! Suresh Bala

  2. Enjoy! All the beat Hari!
    Good thing is, because the route is totally new to you, you’ll be too engrossed in the scenery to feel tired. Don’t forget to post pictures.

  3. Hi Hari,

    It’s great and You are going to enjoy it. Your diligent preparation will make it easier. Wish you all the very best. Have an exciting trip.

Leave a Reply

