The Plantar Fasciitis Stutter


A year ago or so, I had this urge to participate in the Delhi Half Marathon and having registered for the same this year, I have been diligently training for it over the last month and a half. I no longer wanted to participate in the Delhi 7 km Dream Run, which I took part in twice before. This didn’t seem challenging enough, unless I ran the whole way .Running is something I haven’t been able to do, because of a certain heart condition, so it would have to be brisk walking with minimal jogging. I set instead, a goal to complete the 21 km distance in less than three hours! After the Barmer – Jaisalmer cycling endeavour I think I now want to challenge myself only with ever increasing endurance events!

I have been training with a great deal of determination, but well within myself, so that I would not end up with serious injury .Jogging was a problem, I know, and hence kept it till just a couple of weeks ago, gradually increasing the effort .For most of the training, I toggled between cycling and walking, with heavier loads over the weekends but always with adequate rest days in between. As I had planned, last week end was the heaviest with a 48 km high effort cycling ride followed the next day with an easy paced 21 km walk, a dry run of sorts of the main event, which I completed in three and a half hours .I was in reasonably good shape post this high effort (by my standards at least).

At the start of this week I had just two weeks to go for the half marathon and decided to make this week the most intense, followed by an easy last week in the run up to the main event. And so I pushed myself, till yesterday I got just the kind of injuries I had been so careful to avoid all these weeks. Pain along the shins( the dreaded shin splints) and pain and difficulty in putting pressure on my left foot .So yesterday and today have been enforced rest days though I had to hobble around in the office yesterday .I simply have to get well enough, soon ,to participate in the half marathon next Sunday .

I did a bit of reading for the foot pain, as this seemed the most critical and a likely show stopper. I seem to have an injured Plantar Fasciitis i.e. damage to the tissue that runs from the heel along the underside of the foot. The Plantar Fasciitis helps transfer the weight of the body across the foot as we stand, walk or run. The cause of the damage is due to continuous stress in exercising but more so due to either improper foot wear or improper “pronation “of the feet when running. Age is also undoubtedly a factor .I had a shin stress last time I practised for the Seven Km Run and had to just walk all the way in the “run”.

Recover can take time and needs rest ( no brisk walking or jogging ) , stretching exercises and liberal application of hot & cold packs .That’s what I’m doing now and hope to be back on my feet , so to speak , by tomorrow .I hope so at any rate . Would like to do an easy paced cycle ride tomorrow morning.

Capelli , my virtual coach on the Lifestrong.com site , advised me to take two days of compete rest just before the event , stack up on carbs , drink lots of water and take part and complete come what may whether I run , walk or crawl !! And so it will be .I’ll make it one way or another

 

Author: hari008

Business Leader , Mentor and Executive Coach with a long track record of achievement , developing high performance teams and mentoring team members who now hold responsible positions in several leading companies

1 thought on “The Plantar Fasciitis Stutter”

  1. thanks for yours advices! for my last half-marathon I use to run /- 40km/week. yes for now I will try to run more than 60km/week. 80/90 seems dificult to me but with a little extra motivation maybe it could be possible. TimRuns: thanks for the advice to run early in the morning, but for me this is impossible. I’m always too sleepy when I wake up…Run in the morning only at weekends!

Leave a Reply

