Just walkin’ ..and cyclin’ in the rain


This year we had the highest rainfall in several decades. With the rains came pot holes, traffic snarls, and long painful drives to office & home. My driver choose just this time to report ill and absented himself for a good forty odd days !!?? The rains, I’m sure also disrupted many fitness plans, besides the havoc it created at the infamous CWG Village and the over all preparations for the Games.

One gloomy morning, there was just a hint of a drizzle as I set off defiantly, for a morning walk in the neighbourhood park. A large sprawling garden, with trees lining the walking and jogging tracks; a great place for morning work outs. The trees always struck me as being aloof & serene, each an individual standing out in the crowd. One of these days I plan to photograph them, in a series I’d call “The Trees”!!

 Lots of folk of all ages gamely work out every morning (when it’s not raining that is!) .Quite an inspiring place really when you see old people, some needing assistance, trudge along or even exercise in sprightly fashion; some young and old, obese but working hard to shed weight, even a podgy little girl of not more than seven or eight doing her bit to cut overweight. It’s a potpourri of people doing the right thing every morning.

Just before the rains, on an earlier walk, I had seen a very long line of ants, briskly running in the disciplined way only ants can. Impressed by the long distance the ants where covering, in a tightly knit column, I measured the column as sixty long strides; quite a distance for such tiny creatures foraging for provisions, isn’t it? The ants would be secure during the torrential rains that followed and in time the rains would clear and the sun would shine again for them.

By the time I reached the park, the drizzle had turned fairly heavy but I did see quite a few diehards still at their constitutional walks .Some with umbrellas, some with out .I got over early diffidence and walked briskly in the rain .I kept willing the down pour to subside … and it did!! But soon it was back; I kept gamely on sure that it was a test of my resolve by the rain gods!!! It subsided for a while and I commended my triumph over the elements … when it poured and drenched me to the bone .I had to get home, and nonchalantly walked back in the rain. I fancied the experience and days later set off for a walk even as the rains tumbled down, now at ease and carefree at this renewed sense of freedom.

I was later to cycle in the pouring rain on my solo rides around Pansheel , Asiad and Chirag and with the GK Bikers one wet Sunday morning .As we drove down to Nehru Park , I hinted to Vijay that perhaps we should keep off cycling and have a sumptuous breakfast instead .At the Park we saw a family ,or should I say an extended family, apparently new to cycling, happy to be out on that wet morning and game for cycling .The GK Bikers were too ,and so off we cycled in the pelting rain…. we incorrigible MAMILS (middle-aged men in lycra shorts) as BBC would say .It was fun all the way and after an exhilarating cycling session we had the usual breakfast treat at Sagar in Defence Colony.      

Author: hari008

Business Leader , Mentor and Executive Coach with a long track record of achievement , developing high performance teams and mentoring team members who now hold responsible positions in several leading companies

Leave a Reply

