More on Choyi Butler


Here’s another titbit about our Great Grand Father Choyi Butler as told by Goyo in ‘A Hundred Years of Excellence’. You’ll note he refers to him as Sri Choyi and not Choyi Butler as he was often referred to. This would supplement the brief write up I had earlier placed on this blog. My earlier entry was based on limited info and more on a romantic image I had of the grand old man. This entry would be more fact based .So here goes.

 

Sri Choyi was the uncrowned king of Cannanore , the grand old man who ruled over a mammoth family .Our grandmother , Ammamma and her sisters and brothers where the children from his first wife. They stayed with him in Kotieth House a large nalukettu building situated in a heavily wooded compound in one of the choicest locations in Cannanore.The house fascinated me when I was young and I used to wonder how it was so cool inside, till I realised that it was almost completely made of wood, except for the outer walls. There was a grand hall upstairs that the Cannanore Free Masons used as their temple till they moved into their own premises.

 

They say Sri Choyi owned all the land from Payambalam beach to Kanathur Kavu and built houses for his children in large holdings, where they stayed and reared their own families. He presided over his large extended family like an ancient patriach.The Choyi’s Hotel was built by him in one of the most idyllic sites in Cannanore, atop a hill over looking the ocean. Ammamma’s half sisters and brothers from her father’s English wife stayed in an elegant and spacious house called ‘The Gardens’ situated on the road to Payambalam beach.

Author: hari008

Business Leader , Mentor and Executive Coach with a long track record of achievement , developing high performance teams and mentoring team members who now hold responsible positions in several leading companies

10 thoughts on “More on Choyi Butler”

  1. I believe he also had run a hotel close to Fort Maidan which was patronised by the golfers who played in the spacious ground [Fort Maidan] opposite . His second wife was fathered by an English Man and mother was a Thiyya woman.?

  2. I found this article on National Geograraphic Traveller, which states that he inherited the hotel from an Englishwoman: http://www.natgeotraveller.in/magazine/in-focus/granny-diaries. Is this correct? I’ve heard that the hotel was more recently renamed “Choice Seaside Hotel.” I did see it (I think) when we were driving back from Payyambalam, and a military official did not allow us to go into a lane that we used to go down in the old days to access the beach. Is the hotel still operational? I’m writing an article about Choyi’s Pudding and am trying to get as much information I can. Thanks.

    1. Superb article . Thanks for sharing it . Enjoyed reading it particularly the bits about Choyi’s Hotel and what we call Choyi’s pudding ..The hotel as I understand is not in operation now and i sunder some sort of a tax related litigation .

      1. Hello Nita , Just spoke to my sister in law Asha . Are you Prithi Pavitran’s sister ? Prithi is married to Amarnath Ramachandran who is my wife’s cousin.

  3. Hello! That’s right! I’m Prithi’s sister. Thanks for the info you shared about Choyyi’s Seaside Hotel. I haven’t completed my article, but if you’d like to take a look, I’ll share it with you when it’s completed. Thanks much. Warm regards, Nita

    1. That would be wonderful . Please share the article when completed. My sister in law, Asha is in Kannur for a short spell. I have asked her to take a few photos of the Choice Hotel if possible . Will post it on this site when I get hold of it . Best wishes , Hari

Leave a Reply

