Life as a family man


Work and the office dominated my life whether as a family man or as a professional.A shortwhile before Shirish was born I had taken up a new job with HCL and was posted to Mumbai with no housing support of any kind.I moved to Mumbai as an enforced batchelor while Deepa & Seema remained at Delhi with her Mom & Dad.I stayed for a while with Gopi & Marie and then moved to a room of my own with the Phadnavis’s.My stay in Mumbai was professionaly very good and I established myself as a performer in the new company.I remember one night before I was to leave I noticed how worried Deepa was looking in her sleep .I did wake her up and reassure her that all will be well .I guess she was worried that I had left a secure job in a public sector company and was jumping into something much more risky.It worked out for me though ;yet every night and day I prayed sincerely for divine help that I would succeed.As has happened most often ,my prayers where answered.
Within 8 months or so I was called down to Delhi , promoted and offered a wider responsibility spanning the West and South territories with the option to base myself anywhere .I choose the place I was most fond of ,B’lore. And so once again the family was reunited as Deepa ,Seema & our new born son Shirish joined me at B’lore.
Our stint at B’lore was another great period of togetherness with the greater family .Geetha and Anand , Sathy & Judy and Arun & Medha where great company and we met often for gettogethers and parties.Seema however didnt like her school one bit and on a holiday to Delhi choose to stay back with her grand parents and go back to the Pansheel Montisarrie school. Ever since we reached B’lore she was so keen to join a school and would stand by the gate and  look wistfully at the other children going to school .Once even applying some pressure of her own ,saying if we didnt find a school for her soon she wont go later ????With sky high expectations of school’ a poor experience would have been a rude shock.It was good she could get back to such a wondeful and forward looking school as the Pansheel Montisarrie, so that she did not seriously lose  confidence in herself or the social fabric at large. Shirish meanwhile grew up to be very fun loving and eager to jump into activities .This trait remained with him and he never hesitated to experiment and participate in games or social activities in his school or friends circle.
I continued to be absorbed in work and maintained a gruelling schedule of 15 to 20 days travel across the territories of West & South.Deepa learnt to be very self sufficient and I guess once again the presence of near family members would have given her comfort and confidence. 
Our days in B’lore would end all to soon as I was called back to Delhi to head the Service operations .This time we set up a home of our own in Deshbandu Apartments.We all liked this house and the early days of our children where spent in this house over a period of ten years or so.Life for me at the office with a new expanded responsibility was as hectic as ever and I as usual was absorbed in work and the hectic grind of late nights and travel .Deepa fully managed the house and the kids and all our needs , me included and I had as many as the kids.This new assignment and the national responsibility it carried brought for me loads of tension and bouts of anxiety.I keep wondering how I could have done things differently ,but stil cant find the answers .Corporate life always seems to be like this and as I look around me I see the same story and the same situation for all in the rat race. Some people I noticed managed to spend time with their children and managed to participate more in family activities , oh how I envied them !!! I just could get the balance right.Deepa was most cooperative and understanding .She could have made life difficult for me and insisted on a greated participation from my side in the affairs of the family and up bringing of the kids .It’s amazing how she managed all those years.
 

Author: hari008

Business Leader , Mentor and Executive Coach with a long track record of achievement , developing high performance teams and mentoring team members who now hold responsible positions in several leading companies

Leave a Reply

