The Highs at HRL


If I look back at the HRL Service stint and ask my self what where the high points , I cant find any really big programmes such as the SMWG Movement or the Service Outsource programme  as wehad in Xerox.it was more a time for building an organisation literally from scratch.Team building training ,setting up the MIS , et al.It was way back in ’86,’87,’88 when PC’s where not so freely available, no laptops or mobile phones you could say it was the stone age.HCL wasnt then going to make massive investments in infrastructure to support a customer first programme or quality management sysytem.Nevertheless we put together a rudimentary systems which ensured service performance data was compiled ,subsequently we had a fairly robost system for AMC tracking and consumables sales.The performance measurement systems helped put in place a system of incentive payments for the service team which was path breaking in those days although very small by current day standards.Mosty of this was made possible by Mita Mehrotra later Mita Das.
Training and development was heavily emphasised at all levels.All engineers where sent to the Hostel attached to our factory at Rampur and went through not just product training  Championed by Gopa but also first level management skills by Hemant Kumar and myself .I attend the last few days of all product training sessions living with the team in the hostel and on the final day as the teams got back to Delhi to leave for their respective stations they came over home for dinner.No wonder I got to know every one at the grass roots level and they got to know me as well.I think it was one of the major causes for the strong team bonding and espirit the corps we built up in the team.
Service policies where hand written ( in true manuscript form )and given to PSV for his views and buy in .I still have that manuscript with his comments as a legacy of the past.It had old fashioned and straid thinking from todays perspective but when one considers it was written over twenty years ago it was a quite a document.We conducted regular team meetings and developed a strong shared vision of what needed to be done and why. I’m not very sure if many service teams of that era had the kiind of outlook ouir team had .Since then most service teams in almost all industries have evolved and many of the principles we set up then are now common very day practices .
When I look back however I cant help asking myself at what cost did all this take place ??Little or no time for the family a hectic travel schedule that saw me travel between 15 to 20 days in a month and an almost continuous high level of stress and tension .I just didnt participate in the early years of my childrens growth and development , which was fully taken care of by Deepa.Work – life balance was something I just didnt bother about.Was it right ?? In retrospect I dont thing it was .I’m sure I could have workrd out a more balance life and not only spent more quality time with the family but also spend time on personal development , hobbies and other social pursuits.To late to cry over spilt milk though.Thanks to Deepa the children have grown up splendidly and we as a family are close knit and caring.
Author: hari008

Business Leader , Mentor and Executive Coach with a long track record of achievement , developing high performance teams and mentoring team members who now hold responsible positions in several leading companies

Leave a Reply

